Post 1: Introduction

Image

My name is Marlene Schmid. I was born and raised in Montreal the last 21 years. My family is German, therefore German is my first language. I am majoring in Human Relations and it is my third year doing so.

I spend most of my time horseback riding and taking care of my new puppy. If I am not taking care of my two very time consuming animals, I try to find some time to watch some television, sleep, eat or spend time with my friends and family.

My goal for this class is to learn about a different field other than Human Relations. That is the great thing about electives. Hopefully this class will help me develop a critical approach to advertising and allows me to learn and understand  how advertisements influence the consumers whether it is in a positive or negative way.

My favorite commercial right now is the Sochi, 2014 Winter Olympics which represents the gratitude the Olympians have for their mothers. I like the fact that it is sweet, kind and being an emotional television watcher I am afraid to say, it made me tear up. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=57e4t-fhXDs

5 things that the faculty do that make learning hard:

1)    Assigning multiple long and difficult readings in a short period of time.

2)    Spending more time on readings that will not be on the exam then the ones that will be.

3)    Focusing on one aspect or view of a subject and not being open to listen to different opinions.

4)    Not giving enough feedback on assignments.

5)    Cramming exams and assignments in the same weeks every semester, like every other professor does.

5 things that the faculty does to make learning easier:

1)    Making the class more interactive.

2)    Assigning shorter readings and therefore being able to focus and discuss them in more detail.

3)    Supplying students with course notes.

4)    Having an open and approachable instructor.

5)    Having non-cumulative final exams.

Leave a comment